What is happiness?

Before I start making other posts, I feel I need to pose the question what is happiness? It tends to be seen as, “positivity” and “a cheery disposition”, but through reading Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project, I’ve discovered more about my views, and the views of others, on happiness. One of her findings that particularly stood out to me was the view that happiness and unhappiness aren’t polar opposites, but rather two separate emotions running parallel through time. Once realising this, I had a logical explanation for why happiness and sadness can occur at the same time. In fact, it applies for all emotions; they work individually and each have their own lows and highs.

Happy is something I’ve apparently always been seen as; “nice” and “happy” are the two adjectives that have been applied most to me. I don’t exactly know why, maybe it’s my smiley resting face, or that I’m a lot more warm and caring than I think I am, but I’ve given up questioning and now proudly accept it. And in that, it makes me feel happier.

Next comes the easier question: how to be happy. This changes for everyone, depending on their interests. I’m happy when I muck around with my sister, watch my favourite movies and tv shows (especially if they’re in German or French, and I can understand them really well), discover new favourite books, reread old favourite books, successfully cook something delicious, go for long walks, spend time with my friends, create mementos, sing songs from my childhood… the list is endless. The best part is that I’m always discovering new ways to make me happy.

Other than The Happiness Project, my favourite readings to turn to on happiness are this, this and this.

How about you, anyone who is reading this? What do you think happiness is? How do you be happy?

 

Leave a comment