Vegie Nachos!

I love nachos, but when I first became a vegetarian, I was worried. How could I still enjoy one of my favourite meals??? Thanks to my wonderful, quick-thinking dad, the answers was simple. So, I shall give a quick run-down on how we make vegetarian nachos.

  • mashed refried beans
  • kidney beans
  • chickpeas
  • corn chips
  • onion
  • tomato
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • cheese
  • cumin
  • ground coriander seeds
  • Mexican chilli powder
  1. Dice 1/2 onion and a whole tomato while heating a bit of oil in a frying pan
  2. Add the onion and mix it a bit until it browns slightly
  3. Add some cumin, ground coriander seeds, and Mexican chilli powder
  4. Put in 2-3 tablespoons of kidney beans, chickpeas, and mashed refried beans (this substitutes the meat)
  5. Mix it all together, ensuring the refried beans aren’t clumped together
  6. Add the tomato and mix that through
  7. To assist with cooking, pour in some water (the amount doesn’t matter as it evaporates when cooking)
  8. Leave it to simmer until thickened
  9. Place some corn chips on a plate, then put the cooked ingredients on top
  10. Add some extra chips and grated cheese on top, then put in oven to melt (approx. 180C)
  11. Remove from oven when ready and enjoy!

Serves 1-2 people