How To Adult

I am 18, and have been since December; there’s no escaping that fact. However, I often feel like I’m not an adult. I still live with my parents, get scared of things, and am fairly childish in general. As I said before, though, I am 18 and, thus, an adult. I realise, looking back on the past year, there are a few things I do, or strive to do, that I consider to be adult. So, coming from a girl still at home with a tonne of stuffed animals, here’s my guide on being an adult.

  • Take an interest in politics. When I say this, it doesn’t mean to have to be writing angry letters or following the values of every politician, because I certainly don’t. However, it’s good to pay a bit more attention than you used to. I don’t know how other governments are going, but with mine, they’re increasing the cost of everything, including doubling the cost of uni. For most adults, including myself, THIS APPLIES TO US. I try to deny it, but if I wasn’t an adult in uni, I don’t really know how much I would’ve cared.
  • Hate less. Remember when it used to be cool to “hate on” things? Certain bands, books, movies, people at your school… just drop that attitude. Hate weighs you down quite a lot and makes you unbearable to deal with by both yourself and friends. A really dumb example, but I used to hate on One Direction a lot. I complained about the “poppiness” of their music (it’s their genre, you goof), and I honestly don’t know what else I said. One day, I just decided to drop the hate, and re-listen to their music. Long story short, I absolutely love them now. The same applies to people. As you’ll have found in a previous post, I was taught that “slut-shaming” was a normal thing. Well, it isn’t, and when I changed my view, I got to know some really lovely people.
  • Be prepared to change. You’re an adult now. You don’t have to follow the same beliefs, looks, ideals, etc., of your childhood. If needed, research something that’s part of your lifestyle, and see if you still feel the same. Something I found out recently was the truth behind my once omnivorous diet. At first I regretted it, but now I’ve been vegetarian for almost 3 months and am looking into the dairy, egg, and honey industry, and considering going into a plant based lifestyle. I am also exploring spirituality more. I used to feel that I either had to be Catholic, or nothing, but I’m realising now that I can simply be spiritual and have a connection with whatever higher beings, and explore how I believe souls exist.
  • Go to bed earlier. When I was much younger, I thought that being an adult meant staying up until ridiculous am hours. In the months after exams, I did have those few months where that was the norm, but wow, it was difficult. I’m getting into the habit of falling asleep at around 10:30pm, which feels a lot better. I especially hate the feeling of “wasting” my morning, so it’s good to naturally wake up at around 8am.
  • Don’t care what others think. As a young adult, regular drinking and clubbing is what’s expected. I don’t care if it’s what others like, but after my initial excitement of getting drunk, I’m definitely over it. There’s plenty of other situations like this, too. I’ve lost track of the amount of judgement I’ve gotten for wanting to pursue teaching, even though I “could do so much better”. I just ignore it. I do what I want and love it.
  • Look after yourself. In recent years, I have realised that there’s no such thing as “good” or “bad” food, and that “good” food doesn’t guarantee you to be skinny. As a way to de-stress with exams, I decided to go running. It felt amazing, however I realised that in order for it to not hurt, I needed to eat food that provided me with slow burning energy. I further realised, when I took part in these things, I felt less lethargic and wanted to get out there and do things. I discovered that these things are linked to how I look after myself, rather than to the “dieting industry” that I despised. My body, as with everyone else’s, is what takes me all the way to death. It is a vessel for my soul, and needs my love and to be nurtured.
  • Have fun. I feel this is self-explanatory. No matter how old you get, you are still capable of having fun and receiving all that life has to offer.

Leave a comment